One Can Make a Big Difference

November 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

We see passion in people who are willing to change the ordinary by just a few degrees and live in ways that others might view as radical, risky, or weird. I have often thought, as perhaps you have, “Will this minor change I am making have any impact? What is the point?”

Our friend and co-laborer in Christ, Jennifer Merchandani, has recently embarked on a mission to change the world one can at a time. We even caught her this Sunday after church nosing through the trash to find two treasures of Fanta and Coca-Cola.

She is passionately proving that one can make a difference and without knowing it, she has encouraged others to come alongside her. Students, adult leaders, and even my family in Alabama have started collecting soda cans because we recognize that small efforts combined lead to life-changing growth.

Thank you Jennifer for sharing a portion of your passion with us today and being our guest. Thank you for your ministry to our students. We count it a blessing to be co-passengers on this DRIVE with you.

~Brooke

Some people call me crazy. Some have even scoffed at my plan or crinkle their nose when they see me digging in the trash cans. I am on the mad search for aluminum cans, and I am willing to go the depth required (no pun intended).

If you’ve ever met me, you know that I tend to think “big”. “All things are possible” is scripture I claim. It seemed like it would be easy enough: collect cans, cash them in, and donate the money towards building a home in Honduras for one of the several “trash dump” families. I mean, there are cans EVERYWHERE. I can’t drive down the road and not see them on the side of the street, or walk by a garbage can and not take a peek, even when it’s located inside a nice, clean church, with nice, clean people walking by. It takes everything in me not to walk up to complete strangers and ask, “Are you done with your soda,” and if so, “Can I have your can?”

What compels me? At first, it was the realization that innocent children are living in conditions that are unthinkable and being exposed to, sold into, or kidnapped for things that make my stomach turn. I can’t even imagine their lives without tears welling up at this very moment. Secondly, I understand that I can’t do “big” things or “fix” the problems these “trash dump” families face, but I can do a little. While I am not a math major, I do know that if you take a lot of a little and add them all together, it will equal BIG! Lastly, the mere fact that God has given me the ability to do something, and I will one day be accountable for what I did or didn’t do compels me. It only costs me time, energy, and a little dignity.

image from globalfootprints.org

What is your role in this crazy thing called life? Where are you storing up your treasures? What has God-given you and how are you choosing to use it for His glory?

There is no telling how eternity would be impacted if all the members of the body of Christ came together and decided not to be just hearers of the word, but doers.

 He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God? Micah 6:8

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One Can Make a Big Difference at Raise The Risk.

meta

