Murder She Wrote

October 28, 2011 § 2 Comments

There is a murder taking place today, and I know all about it.

An accomplice to the murder told me where it is going to happen and about the time it will happen, but I honestly don’t think there
is anything that can stop it. I’m not sure anyone cares… at least anyone who can stop it from happening.

I’m pretty sure if I call the police about it, I will be the one who is charged with a crime.

And so here I sit at my computer staring off into space wondering what might have been and wondering how I can raise the risk in my own life in order to make a difference in someone else’s life that is about to end.

You see, today I received a call from a woman who was a member of another church about 40 minutes from ours. She wanted more
information about our church’s student ministries for a friend whose daughter recently got pregnant. At first, we treated the call like any other information-seeking call that we would get on any given day.

But then the woman on the other line said something that needed clarification.

She said rather nonchalantly, “When we take care of it and get her some counseling, we would like her to get involved in a church where
she can make better friends.” After asking what she meant by “take care of it”, the woman stated, “Well, obviously she won’t have it because she’s only fifteen.”

It?

Obviously?

I had a raise the risk moment although it hardly felt like a risk… so I challenged her and told her that if she sought the counsel of her
pastors, that I am sure they would advise her to do whatever she could to help save this life. I thought if I could help her to see that there were other choices available to this child having a child she would see the “light.”

I was wrong.

She politely told me that she was not interested in continuing the conversation and that she was hanging up.

I let her hang up the phone.

What else was I supposed to do? Like I had some sort of choice. I sat there for a moment disgusted and troubled and angry that the
phone company didn’t provide a service where you could reach out and touch someone tangibly. I was confused how someone who believed in, “the Way, the Truth, and the Life” could so casually dismiss the value of a human life for the comfort of another human
life.

But doesn’t that happen more often than not.

We compare ourselves to others and we determine the value of a life based on what benefit they can bring us. I am convicted as I write this that I often times abort certain potential friendships because they do not bring enough benefit to me. Oh, how I long to be like the Good Samaritan that I just read about to my children before tucking them into bed tonight… someone who can give money, resources, compassion, and mercy away freely because others need to be rescued by Christ’s love.

That’s what this world needs… that’s what this unborn child needs… that’s what I need.

What about you?

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  • What is God’s position on abortion? Post some of the scriptures you find to our Facebook page.
  • What is your position on abortion? If there is a difference between the two, what will you do to bring yourself to His standard?
  • What potential relationships have you aborted because they don’t bring enough benefit to you? Confess that sin to God and
    open yourself up to those that can’t offer much, but still desire godly friendship.
Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Murder She Wrote

  • Jen says:

    Very thought provoking! I wish the only option one would even think of would be adoption.

    Reflecting back to my decision to have and keep a baby at fifteen, I am thankful my parents left that decision up to me because I am not sure they would have chosen life. More than that, I am thankful for God’s sovereignty because my decision was not based on what was right or wrong, but based on what was mine. God used my “selfishness”, if you will, for His glory…because if I didn’t choose life, I most likely would have kept going down the road I was on and may not have ever come to know Him. Praise God, my eternal destination was changed.

    • Ron Cooney says:

      Jen,

      Thank you so much for your response and for your vulnerability to share something so personal. Praise God that you chose life in two instances – for your child and for your soul. It sounds like this child is growing up with a mom that loves the Lord and is teaching her/him to walk with the Savior. Praying blessings on you and this little one.

      Ron

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Murder She Wrote at Raise The Risk.

meta

