I Have Never Been Home

October 12, 2011 § 2 Comments

I have never been home. Really, I dare say never even peaked at my house. How can this be?

Certainly I have called numerous dwellings home. I have a residential address, keep all my belongings in one structure, and refer to said structure as home. However, believing that the Bible is 100% true, I view heaven as my real home.

This present body in this present house are both my temporary home.

So often I stop, place hands on hips, pucker bottom lip, and cry, “X, Y, Z!” Forgetting that X, Y, and Z are temporal transient speed bumps along the journey.  I react like my heaven is earth.

Please understand, some speed bumps cause misalignment for all involved: cancer, adultery, paralyzing jealousy.  These, and others, can seemingly stop time, press down, and threaten our survival. (Note some trials require fleeing. For example, abuse in any form.)

These bumps are all temporal.

Our physical eyes cannot see the eternal; that is why our mind’s eye must focus there daily. More like moment by moment.

My quandary: wanting to soak up simple moments in life, yet stressing over the simplest disturbances. I lose sight of the unseen.

2 Corinthians 4:17-18:

“For this light and momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.” (emphasis mine)

Paul penned these words by the power of the Holy Spirit. The light and momentary afflictions that he was referring to included: afflictions, beatings, imprisonment, persecution, hunger, and want. Temporary, yes.  Light afflictions? Without argument, that statement was penned with an eternal perspective.

The point in the scripture that leapt off the page for me was “this present affliction is preparing us an eternal weight of glory.”

Weight of glory triggers my mind to think of resistance training building strength and endurance into my body. In order to handle larger amounts of weight, I must train with increasing measures of resistance over a period of time.

This temporary home is meant to prepare us for God’s, mind-blowing, glory revealed.  When stressed to the point of breaking, or as my family likes to say, ” having a come apart,” let us remember that the future glory outweighs the present load of affliction.  Let our eyes transcend the transient.  Let us long for home.  May we live for what is to come; our true home in heaven.

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  • We are not meant to walk Home alone. If there is a current situation that is pressing upon you, then reach out for help.
  • Examine yourself to see if you are getting too comfortable in your current surroundings.  If so, what may need to change?
  • Try giving your current dwelling place as an offering to the Lord.  How would He have us use our “homes” to further His kingdom.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to I Have Never Been Home

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Have Never Been Home at Raise The Risk.

meta

