Hope for the Seeker

September 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

Feeding deer that frequent our backyard is a tradition for our family.  The deer remember that we provide a nice supply of yellow corn sprinkled around the base of our backyard tree.  They feast several times a day, up to  four and five at a time.

Our children love watching them, and so do we.

The deer never come to our front porch and try to get into the corn stored in a container there. Nor do they sniff at our door to come inside and eat that which graces our table. Instead, they return to the ample supply of corn already designated for them at the base of the tree.

This makes me consider: How often do I search for nourishment in places not alloted for me? What am I trying to satiate my spiritual hunger with?

In Psalm 42:1-2 it says, “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?”

God designed us in such a way that we hunger and thirst for Him.  There is a void in each of us that desires to commune with God and be in relationship with Him.  Yet, we begin to fill ourselves with the things of this world rather than the things of God.  We will go searching for love, affection, and fulfillment in people, things, and food when God has told us:

Come, all who are thirsty, come to the waters; all you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost. Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and your soul will delight in the richest of fare. Give ear and come to me; hear me, that your soul may live.  I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful love promised to David.”  Isaiah 54:1-3

Notice the consumption in the passage.  What do we seek to consume that which may in the end consume us?

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” Matthew 5:6

Jesus is the only food that will fill our hungry souls.

Heaven is the hope for every heart which in Jesus is a manifested reality.

“Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty. John 6:35

I want to be like the deer this week and pant for the living God. I want to eat of the Bread of Life (John 6:35) and not go laboring for that which does not satisfy.   Won’t you join me?

an edited repost

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  1. Observe the animals in nature and thank God for His provision and care of all that He created.
  2. Give food away this week to fill hungry bellies.  Perhaps 5 for 5?
  3. Satisfy your desires in God’s word.  When you are tempted to chase after your filling the world’s way turn to God through prayer and Bible reading to fill you. I so often need to be reminded that life is a journey completed one step at a time.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hope for the Seeker at Raise The Risk.

meta

