More to Life Mondays: Keeping Our Mind on the Mission

September 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

I remember it as yesterday.  Camp War Eagle, the Auburn University orientation camp.  Thrilled to be an official Auburn Tiger after a lifetime of  being a Tiger fan, I marched onto Jordan Hare Field as the culminating events of the camp commenced.  Aside from the thrill of walking on the turf I had so often seen on tv, and far less frequently from the stands, the plush carpet of grass grabbed my attention the most.

My son and I standing on the lawn beside Samford Hall at Auburn University.

Eyes fixed on my sneakers, I marveled at the carpet of grass and thanked God that this university would be my collegiate home for the next four years.  God was planting me among friends, my future husband, and a faith family that would point me more and more in His direction.

My years at Auburn long ago faded as the flowers.  Conversely, the Word of God that I pursued as a college student, has not returned to my God void.  He cultivates a crop in me whose yield, prayerfully, will be unto His glory and mankind’s good.

The blades of grass I stood on over a decade ago have long ago withered and been replaced.  So shall my life be. My firm foundation is found in Christ and God’s Word alone. When this blade of grass is at its withering moment the foremost decision that will matter is that I trusted in Jesus Christ for my salvation.

There is more to life this Monday.  Let’s keep our mind on the mission and study the Word of the Lord that stands forever.

~Brooke

6 A voice says, “Cry!”
And I said,”What shall I cry?”
All flesh is grass,
and all its beauty is like the flower of the field.

 7The grass withers, the flower fades
when the breath of the LORD blows on it;
surely the people are grass.

8 The grass withers, the flower fades,
but the word of our God will stand forever.

The Word of God Stands Forever- Isaiah 40:6-8

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More to Life Mondays: Keeping Our Mind on the Mission at Raise The Risk.

meta

