Wings of Change

August 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

If nothing ever changed, there’d be no butterflies.  ~Author Unknown

The absence of change may be the absence of a fresh word from the Lord.

God’s mercies are new every morning.  Mercy unchanging yet fresh everyday.

Behold, He is doing something new.

The Lord Almighty causes the brilliant sunrise and sunset to paint the sky with varying color every day.  No two are alike.

Every snowflake, fingerprint, and laugh balk at uniformity.

Yet, man seeks to relive what has already been; look like the airbrushed model; and age in years alone.

As creatures of habit it is possible to sit in the same seat, eat for breakfast the same spread, and vacation in the usual spots.

Perhaps it is easier to live life in the mundane.  Is it more fruitful?  More fulfilling?

If the following phrases are true then wings of change await:

I sing the same songs I did 2 years ago.

If I were to lose my vision someone who casually knows me could lead me to my seat at church without asking for directions.

I haven’t met a new person in a month.

I cannot remember the last time I read the Bible outside of church.

I have not shared the gospel in over a month.

I remember what day it is based on t.v. programming.

I cannot remember the last time I wept over my sin and God’s grace. Nor confessed my sins before Jesus one by one seeking true repentance.

I have purposefully tried to hide my secret life.

*Disclaimer. I have identified with every statement above at one point in my life or another.  We are fellow pilgrims on this path.

In pinpointing areas of needed growth contemplate the following:

All change is not growth, as all movement is not forward.  ~Ellen Glasgow

If you would attain to what you are not yet, you must always be displeased by
what you are.  For where you are pleased with yourself there you have remained. 
Keep adding, keep walking, keep advancing.  ~Saint Augustine

The only difference between a rut and a grave is their dimensions.  ~Ellen
Glasgow

They must often change, who would be constant in happiness or wisdom. 
~Confucius

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  • Make a change based on the truthfulness of the above statements.
  • Watch for sunsets this week and see how The Creator spices up “everyday life.”
  • Seek to put a fresh twist on your commitments that are God-glorifying.  I.e. romance in your marriage, your performance of work duties, or the pursuit of friendships.
  • Read the Biblical account of Joshua.  God did not command Joshua to march into battle in the orthodox way.  Joshua knew God’s marching orders to be a necessary change in methods of war because he knew God.
Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wings of Change at Raise The Risk.

meta

