Walking IN Water

May 7, 2011 § 2 Comments

Since becoming a wreck on Monday, I have had some temporary changes to my lifestyle and that of my family.

A week ago I signed our kids up for swim school 3-5 times a week for May and June. Now, plans have changed and we are instead driving the family to chiropractic care 3 times a week and will have to for most, if not all, of the summer.

Likewise, one week ago I would travel to the gym to workout on weights and some cardio. Now I am doctor restricted to walk in chest level water for 15 minutes; building up to 40 minutes without soreness before I am allowed to exercise on land again.

Talk about a shift!

The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.- Proverbs 16:9

What can I learn from walking in water?

Water is one emblem of the Word of God.  (See John 15:3, Ephesians 5:26, and Titus 3:5) Therefore, water is an emblem of Christ who is the Word (John 1:1,14).

Before Peter ever stepped out of the boat to walk on the water to Jesus(Matthew 14:22-33), he had walked with Jesus as a disciple. Peter had listened to Jesus, ate with Jesus, watched Him at work and talked with Him.  Peter had faith in Jesus because he had spent time with Him.

Peter had walked with the Word.

As I think about the months ahead that I will be walking in the water I will  do some Colossians 3:2 and set my mind’s eye on things above.  I will be walking in the Water so that when He calls me I will be ready to walk on the water in faith.

I am sure that I will have moments like Peter and will lose focus and, momentarily, faith, but as Jesus responded to Peter’s cry for help, so shall He say and act to me…

Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, ‘O you of little faith, why did you doubt?’ (vs. 31)

Hey Mom!

During the very busy season of life when we are almost consumed by and with our precious children, teens, young adults…we can mislead ourselves into thinking that we will always be walking in water without the precious opportunity to walk on water in some area of inner passion.

Opportunities will flow in and out to go here and to be or do that.  However, we can never regain the moments that the little sponges are at our feet hungry for the Water Word of God to be lavished on them. (Boy do I need to read this line 7 times a day 7 days a week!)

Our tasks as mothers are great, but our God is greater.

Let’s walk in the Water with joy and get the kids wet in the process.  Who knows, when the time comes they just might walk on the water with you.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Some encouragement for Mother’s of all ages:

Trying my best to be hidden in Him,

~Brooke

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  • Think about ways you can increase your own and your family’s time in the word. This might include: reading the Bible together after dinner, displaying a memory verse in a prominent area and reciting it together…
  • What are ways you increase your family’s time in the word?
Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Walking IN Water

  • Victoria Uline says:

    Hey Mrs Brooke,
    I just wanted to let you know that me and my family have been praying for you, Emily, and Josh. I hope that your recovery goes quickly! We love you guys!

    Victoria

    • raisetherisk says:

      Hi Victoria,
      Thank you so much for your prayers! We have been feeling the prayers of God’s people. I would like to thank you for reading the blog too.
      Please continue to pray for us and specifically that our fear (mine included) of having another accident would subside. I really do appreciate it so much. Love to you and your family!
      Brooke

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Walking IN Water at Raise The Risk.

meta

