The Heart of Raising the Risk

March 30, 2011 § 2 Comments

What does raising the risk really mean?  Is it giving  a little more?  Witnessing  a little more…or at all?   I am coming to believe it is a much greater cost than I originally perceived it to be.

As I first started this blog, I wanted others to show up and to share how they had raised the risk in witnessing experiences. I desired for others to give more to Christ, go to the lost in Jesus name, to read their Bible and obey the Great Commission.

God is expanding my view.

Christ is challenging me to raise the risk and obey the radical commandments of Christ in ways that I would not have imagined or perceived in my limited mind.

In the beginning of this blog I wondered how I could possibly develop sufficient content to spur others on to love and good deeds. After all, I am a stay at home mom with part-time work outside the home. How could I possibly raise the risk to a level say a single, empty nester, young married, or college student could?  I can’t pick up and move across the globe.  I can’t …on and on and on.

Consider the words I have spoken to my servant, Jeremiah.

To borrow my husband’s phrase, “God is gloriously ruining me.”  I find myself almost in tears at the gym weeping over the lost and the sin of our generation, the country, the professing saved, my own. (I think I need and I want to weep over my sin more.) I wrestle with myself as I contemplate and then negate witnessing to the greeter at Wal-Mart and wondering how I can justify not witnessing to every person I come in contact with.  How can I say I believe the Bible and not spend every waking moment snatching brothers and sisters from the fire?  These are thoughts from this week alone!

As I have written this blog, God has asked me to do what I write about. In response my family has sold crystal and china to give to the poor, witnessed to strangers as God has put on our hearts, examined ourselves to see if we could justify a much-needed kitchen remodel and then proceeded to do so only while praying for the workers that would come into our home and believing that we have the freedom to move forward.

I have interrupted people in their lunch to present the gospel and have continued to pray for something which most would consider impossible.

Raising the risk is about living like Christ.

“For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sake he became poor, so that you by his poverty might become rich.” 2 Corinthians 8:9

I am expectantly looking towards what Christ will ask me to do in response to raising the risk, and wondering what it will cost me at the same time.  This life is but a breath and I want to live it in a holy exhale that warms the lost world with the presence of the Holy Living God.

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  • Post about how Christ is “gloriously ruining” you for the Kingdom.
  • Obey what the Holy Spirit is whispering to you this week. May He be relentless until we obey.
  • Examine yourself and see what areas you need to repent of and return to God’s will at this present time.

For the women who read this blog, please consider the She Speaks Conference which is about women connecting the hearts of women to the heart of our Father God. My heart is to serve Him and His daughters and sons as He leads.

For a scholarship opportunity to attend the She Speaks Conference, please visit A Holy Experience.

§ 2 Responses to The Heart of Raising the Risk

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Heart of Raising the Risk at Raise The Risk.

meta

