Looking Through the Lens at Joy

March 1, 2011 § 2 Comments

He knew…

He needed…

He wanted…

for God’s will to be done on earth as it is in heaven.

Christ’s focus was on the joy set before him. (Hebrews 12:2)

Just as Christ taught the disciples to pray for God’s will to be done on earth as it is in heaven, so he prayed that for himself when he stared death in the face.

My Father, if it is possible may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.” Matthew 26:39

When it comes to pursuing holiness aren’t we all staring death in the face?  Praise Jesus, we are not facing the cup of God’s wrath towards sin. Christ alone drank from that cup that we might not have to. However, to pursue the holiness of Christ and the servant-life, I must die to my sinful self-focus.

For earth to look more like heaven I must lay down my life for my friends. Not only friends that I can see and touch on a daily basis, but friends whose lives I can touch and then see in heaven. 

The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever. 1 John 2:17

Focus shifts to the joy set before me or the whole life picture is… 

out of focus.

 

Some earthly desires need to be severed to make some kingdom difference. Jesus submitted to death, and so must we who follow him.

Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth. 1 John 3 :18

I know…

I need…

I want…

for God’s will to be done on earth in my life as it is in heaven.

Focus on the joy set before me.

At times, need and knowledge are present, but want to is lacking. It is at such times that I must pray to want.

Thankfulness blossoms when I consider presenting requests safe in his trustful branch:  he answers in accordance with his will. More even, that he will prune my will and my desires to align with his. (John 15) It is frightening to consider where I would be if God had answered all my prayers in accordance with my will.

Therefore,

Be it unto death or unto life

Be it unto sickness or unto health

Be it unto comfort or to pain

Be it unto prosperity or to want

Be it unto near or unto far off

May His will be done in all things.

Colossians 1:17

Take time…pray and focus on the joy.

Raise the Risk:

  • Take a situation that you are currently praying about and truly lay it before the Father asking his will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Do it as often as you need!
  • Find a visual aide to refer to which will remind you to focus on the joy set before you.
  • Identify and lay down some fleeting earthly desires in order to make a bigger kingdom impact.
§ 2 Responses to Looking Through the Lens at Joy

  • craig says:

    I’m here from Ann’s – It’s Sunday now and I’m really late to your Wednesday post – but first I wanted to read all the thank you posts – then started yesterday reading the Walk with him Wednesday posts – and so I just got to yours today. Sorry I’m late. (◠‿◠)

    And oh how you put this so well, “Thankfulness blossoms when I consider presenting requests safe in his trustful branch: he answers in accordance with his will.” Peace is wanting his will above our own – amen. And I loved the out of focus flower shot. A picture paints a thousand words 🙂

    Thank you for this today.

    God Bless and keep you and all of yours

    • raisetherisk says:

      Thank you for your encouraging words! I very much appreciate you taking time to read my post. It has been great reading Ann’s blog and gaining ideas for photos and encouragement in her words. Thanks again and I am so glad this blessed you. Please visit again.
      Brooke

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Looking Through the Lens at Joy at Raise The Risk.

meta

