Marvelous Love

February 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ll never forget the first time I saw my husband.  He was wearing a black suit and that dark, arguably black, hair of his was cut short and bent low as he talked among a circle of girls.  I assumed the cute, petite blonde was his girlfriend, but still inquired as to who he was. When I found out he had been the interim college pastor teaching every Wednesday night, I wondered why it had taken me so long to land on this particular church when I had been church hopping for four months in my Alabama college town.  I also joked that I should have been coming to Wednesday night Bible study! 

It would take five more months  to be asked on a date by him, and two more weeks for a followup date.   Only one date was necessary for me to rashly ascertain he was in fact “the one.”   Funny how that itself was a foreshadowing of how we would both do life together these 10 years later. He, thoughtfully and prayerfully coming to conclusions and decisions, and me, decisively hammering out decisions (hopefully reacting in the Holy Spirit).  Our story, while “unique” to us, isn’t all that uncommon.  However, it takes marvelous love and commitment to flesh out (pun intended) this man and wife covenant reflective of Christ and the church. 

We have seen so many around us fall, flail, leave the one they “cleaved to”, and break covenant with the wife of their youth.  I want our marriage to be a reflection of Christ and the church that draws hearts to salvation. I want our children to know the security of a mom and dad who stay together and who work out and work through trials, sifting, and periods of temptation.  I want our marriage to be marked by love of the Father and the joy of Christ. 

This task may be easier during some seasons than others.  Therefore, let us consider the way of love and may this living word  fall afresh on us today.

Oh, and by the way, the cute blonde was not his girlfriend… lucky for me.

The Way of Love

 1If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbol.

 2And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.

3 If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned,but have not love, I gain nothing.

 

4 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast;

it  is not arrogant 5or rude. It does not insist on its own way;

it is not irritable or resentful;

6it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.

 7 Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

 8Love never ends.

13So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13:1-8, 13 ESV

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  • Ask God to give you fresh eyes for your mate and help you fully love the “wife of your youth.”
  • If you are single, pray for the marriages of friends and then  ask God to prepare you to be a godly mate if marriage is His desire for you. Seek to serve Him wholeheartedly as you are the Bride of Christ whether or not you have walked the aisle.
  • Seek a heart of flesh if you have hardened your heart towards people around you.  Ask Christ to teach you to love others as He has commanded.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Marvelous Love at Raise The Risk.

meta

