Being Thankful Kills Me… Well Sort Of

February 3, 2011 § 1 Comment

I can still remember the fall.  Rough gravel meeting my young eight year old flesh.  It ripped into my palm and knee as I landed  hand first and then knee and then bike. My friends rode on before me.  I can still see the three holes in hand and fresh blood coming out.  Red and gray, blood and earth colliding.  It hurt. I wept. I was tired, thirsty, and hot.  I was riding for a good cause, not just a good time.  The meager attempts of a child to ride her bike to raise money for others in real need.  I remember the pain. I don’t have a scar. 

Today, I am so thankful for that fall twenty-one years ago.  That fall stuck with me. I was proud of the job I had done, and maybe, just maybe, a little proud of the wounds that showed perseverance and the cost of my sacrifice.

I am still riding. Pedaling along in life, trying to finish the race well. Navigating my way through successes, mistakes, detours, and rough terrain. Oh, there is lush loveliness too, but the ever pedaling of it all sometimes gets me weary.

This week in my water breaks, I have been reminded to give thanks; not just for the normal blessings, but for the beauty in the mundane that we often skip over.  In slowing down to be grateful I have found,

grace,

beauty,

and have watched things and people grow.

In this life where complaints are as rampant as YouTube videos gone viral, there are moments of peace in pausing to offer Him purposeful praise.

Disclaimer: I am not literally acquainted with the words of the Apostle Paul.

I have known very little want. I have known very much love.  I have known very little pain. I have known very much health. I have known very little suffering firsthand and yet the trials that I have, and continue to face, at times, seem burdensome beyond bearing and I cry out to God, “I need you, I need you, I need you. I need you to do this Lord. I need you to walk this path.”  In proclaiming my needs to God I find great…

humility,

strength,

perseverance.

I have found that being thankful will kill me.

I mean that.

Being thankful kills off the flesh in me that cries out for “more” or “better” or earthly entitlements,  and puts on Christ.  Thankfulness says to God,

You are right.

You are worthy.

You are all-knowing.

You are all-sufficient.

You are good.

I rejoice that being thankful kills me because it is in the dying that I live.

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  • Choose to give thanks for the circumstances that call your flesh to cry out, “I am finished! I can’t possibly do this!”
  • Share here, or with a friend, a memory you have that causes you to be thankful in all circumstances.
  • Get back up. When you fall this week into sin or temptation, get back up and keep pedaling giving thanks to God for His grace and forgiveness.  If you fall into a tragedy this week, get back up. It is in the getting up that you are poised to be healed, join the pack, and be used for God’s glory.
§ One Response to Being Thankful Kills Me… Well Sort Of

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Being Thankful Kills Me… Well Sort Of at Raise The Risk.

meta

