Gratitude

October 1, 2010 § 3 Comments

     15Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. – Colossians 3:15 

     Thank you.  Two simple words which can have a significant  impact not only on the receiver but on the giver of the words as well.  The one who is thankful is choosing to shift his focus from that which  he does not have or cannot change to what he has, is blessed with, and enjoying. 

6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.- Phillipians 4:6

     When I pause to reflect on my present and past blessings from God, the giver of all good gifts (James 1:17), my mind is more clearly focused on that which I should truly petition and request in prayer. I am more apt to see life in the proper perspective.

     I was challenged recently to write a list of 100 things that I am thankful for.  It is truly a sweet time of reflection to think on at least 100 people, circumstances, and experiences that I have to be grateful for.  I have found myself adding to this list mentally as I have gone about my days since first writing my 100 thanskgivings to God.   I hope that this simple exercise in gratitude will spur you to do likewise. 

     Graciousness is caught in addition to being taught.  I realize more and more that my actions speak so much louder than my words.  I want to live out a life that is authentically gracious and obedient to our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, so that I am modeling a life that I want my children to pursue. 

     Thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking time out of your full day to read this blog.  It is such a blessing to me.

Here is my list in no particular order.

  1. for life
  2. my husband and best friend, Ron
  3. our children, they are precious gifts from God
  4. my parents
  5. my wonderful sister and her husband
  6. all of  my in laws
  7. my neices and nephews
  8. our family’s collective health
  9. salvation in Jesus Christ
  10. forgiveness
  11. the ability to read
  12. access to almost any book in the world
  13. my Bible
  14. a good nights sleep when I can get one
  15. our home
  16. two cars that are paid for
  17. fresh fruit and vegetables
  18. my church
  19. old friends
  20. new friends
  21. our ministry together and DSM students
  22. my gym
  23. my newfound ability to run without taking breaks ( I have asthma and never did this until after Joshy was born!)
  24. quiet time in prayer and Bible study
  25. water
  26. toothpaste and a toothbrush
  27. warm showers
  28. access to good healthcare
  29. Target, Walmart, Ross, Michael’s and TJ Maxx
  30. mercy
  31. hope
  32. a future
  33. my grandparents and extended family
  34. the fall (my favorite time of year)
  35. teachers (old and new): Coach Lenoir, Mrs. Nanatte, Mr. Ned, Mrs. Fell, Mrs.Roberts, Mrs. Kathy, Melanie C., Melanie D., and Susan
  36. my orthodontist, Dr. Brawley (I have started wearing my retainers again!)
  37. my piano teacher, Mrs. Joyce
  38. my GA leaders: Mrs. Vanessa, and Mrs. Sonya
  39. my bookclub
  40. mail and packages from Nana and friends
  41. God’s provision!
  42. education and the ability to learn
  43. Pumpkin Spice Lattes at Starbucks and Chai Tea Lattes at Panarea
  44. Publix and the great service I receive there
  45. catching up with friends 
  46. freedom
  47. missions
  48. Ukraine missions
  49. Jesus’ unending pursuit of my heart
  50. Jefri
  51. a camera and photographs of memories
  52. a dining room table to eat at with my family and friends
  53. a bed
  54. clothes and shoes that fit
  55. this blog
  56. a purpose
  57. good music
  58. our ministry friends and family
  59. lotion
  60. medicine
  61. naps
  62. holidays
  63. tivo
  64. Auburn University and my experience there
  65. Univeristy of South Florida and all that I learned
  66. sports
  67. my college pastor and his wife-thank you for investing in me
  68. a washer and dryer
  69. high speed internet and a computer
  70. my youth pastor: Bro. Jeff- thank you Jan for all the sacrifices that you made so that he could minister to us
  71. coupons!!!
  72. Jeanie, my hairdresser
  73. Fox News
  74. organization
  75. candles
  76. electricty and indoor plumbing
  77. travel
  78. children’s books
  79. my memory
  80. thrift stores and consignment shops
  81. my weaknesses because when I am weak then He is strong
  82. Chick Fila- Ron will be appauled I didn’t think of it til number 82
  83. second chances and lessons learned the first time
  84. that first impressions aren’t always accurate
  85. laughter
  86. the beach
  87. the moutains
  88. all of God’s creation
  89. Beth Moore and her Bible Studies
  90. funny UTube videos
  91. my Ipod
  92. unlimited texting and phone
  93. mom’s homemade cookies and red velvet cake
  94. Christmas movies
  95. Christmas tree farms
  96. flowers
  97. the sun and moon
  98. Easter
  99. free will
  100. Love
  101. dance
  102. One Nineteen Eleven (www.onenineteeneleven.com)
  103. That I have even more I could list!

 

13 Now, our God, we give you thanks,
       and praise your glorious name.

– 1 Chronicles 29:13

  Raise the Risk Challenge:

  • Make your own list of 100 things you are grateful for.( You can share your list if you like.)
  • Write to someone that made your list and let them know what a differance they have made  in your life.
  • Memorize a Bible verse on gratitude.
§ 3 Responses to Gratitude

  • […] as we remember with gratitude the sacrifices of countless men and women who have given of themselves to procure our […]

  • I just wanted to say thank you for your kind comment on my blog. Totally made my day and I needed encouragement THIS particular day. As for this post…I needed to be reminded of every good and perfect gift from my King. I often try to instill thankfulness into the hearts of my kids but seem to forget this for myself. So I thank you twice! 🙂

  • Heather Lazzaro says:

    What a great blog Brooke. I will make my own list and I will share it soon. I just loved the idea to let someone who made it on your list know and thank them. Simple but it matters. Thanks for writing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gratitude at Raise The Risk.

meta

