Fuel for the Hungry

September 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

Last fall we began feeding deer that would frequent our backyard.  It didn’t take long for the deer to remember that we had a nice supply of yellow corn sprinkled around the base of a tree.  Soon they were coming up to feast several times a day, up to  four and five at a time.  Our daughter just loved watching them, and so did we.  Not once did the deer come to our front porch and try to get into the corn stored in a container there. Nor were they sniffing at our door to come inside and eat that which belonged to us. Instead, they would go to the ample supply of corn already designated for them at the base of the tree.  This makes me consider: How often do I search for nourishment in places not alloted for me? What am I trying to satiate my spiritual hunger with?

In Psalm 42:1-2 it says, “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?”

God designed us in such a way that we hunger and thirst for Him.  There is a void in each of us that desires to commune with God and be in relationship with Him.  Yet, we begin to fill ourselves with the things of this world rather than the things of God.  We will go searching for love, affection, and fulfillment in people, things, and food when God has told us:

Come, all who are thirsty, come to the waters; all you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost. Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and your soul will delight in the richest of fare. Give ear and come to me; hear me, that your soul may live.  I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful love promised to David.”  Isaiah 54:1-3

Notice the words: buy, wine, and eat.  Those are at least three ways we try to fill our spiritual hunger with earthly things… shopping, alcohol, and food.

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” Matthew 5:6

Jesus is the only food that will fill our hungry souls!

“Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty. Jesus said to them, ‘I tell you the truth, unless you eat the  flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you.Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me , and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I live because of the Father, so the one who feeds on me will live because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven. Your forefathers at manna and died, but he who feeds on this bread will live forever.’ John 6:35, 53-58

That’s not something you hear everyday, “eat my flesh and drink my blood!”  Eating the flesh and drinking the blood mean believing in Jesus Christ. Christ is the provision for eternal life  in heaven with God and eternal reconciliation between God and man.

I want to be like the deer this week and pant for the living God. I want to eat of the Bread of Life (John 6:35) and not go laboring for that which does not satisfy.   Won’t you join me?

Raise the Risk Challenge:

  1. Post a comment. I would love to know how your spirit responds to God’s message here.
  2. Give food away this week.  We must first meet physical hunger needs before the hungry will listen and respond to spiritual fulfillment.
  3. Satisfy your desires in God’s word.  When you are tempted to chase after your filling the world’s way turn to God through prayer and Bible reading to fill you. It is a journey my friend, and journeys are completed one step at a time.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fuel for the Hungry at Raise The Risk.

meta

